Emerson Borough Hall
Emerson Borough Hall

Your Governing Body

Emerson operates under the Borough form of government established by state law.

The Borough form consists of an elected Mayor and six Council members.  The Mayor serves a four-year term.  The Council members serve staggered three-year terms, with two of the six Council members up for election each year.  Elections are partisan contests held each November.

The Mayor presides at the Council meetings, but has no vote except to break a tie vote.  The Mayor and three Council members constitute a quorum for a meeting to take place, or, in the Mayor's absence, four Council members.

Emerson Mayor and Council meetings are usually the first and third Tuesdays of the month.  This may vary from time to time because of holidays or conflicts.  Meetings start at 7:30 PM and are held in the Borough Hall at 146 Linwood Avenue.

Frequently Asked Questions

In just two clicks of a mouse, the most sought after nuggets of Emerson wisdom can be found and your questions answered. 

All of our departments are jumping on this bandwagon and are pleased to update this area with the most up-to-date, useful and relevant information. 

Please check back soon as the area is rapidly developing.